Notes and Lessons from a TRSH message

TRSH.

Yeah, it’s basically just a disemvowelling (yes, that is actually a word… I looked it up) of the word trash.  So, knowing that, one might wonder why on earth that was a part of a message I heard at church yesterday morning… well, I’m going to tell you.  I’ll also share a few other nuggets I gleaned while sitting at Broad River Community Church this morning, ’cause the message and its themes really resonated with me, and I’d love to share them with you, lovely readers!

TRSH stands for, “The Rebellion Starts Here.”  And no, I’m not talking about some violent uprising, political angst, or anything like that.  At the risk of sounding cliche, this is a rebellion of love.  It is a rebellion that starts in each of us, as Christ-followers, but can easily be transferred to others.  The rebellion finds its base in the fact that we claim Christ as Lord of our life, not the materialism, vanity, or other secular things that much of our society holds dear.  Likewise, the mantra of TRSH leads to spreading love, peace, joy, patience, kindness, goodness, gentleness, self-control… yes, the fruits of the spirit, but also just things that our society is missing SORELY these days.  That is why I say that this rebellion is not just for Christians.  TRSH is for anyone who wants to spread kindness and love into a dark world.

Genuineness is another part of TRSH.  So often, we ask people how they’re doing, and the reply is, “oh, fine and you?” “fine, good.” There’s nothing REAL happening there.  We need people in our lives that we can HONESTLY ask how they’re doing, and expect an honest answer, even if it’s not a happy one.  Likewise, we need to be able to confide in someone, trusting them enough to be vulnerable in answering.  Otherwise, how on earth can we really know each other?  Along the same vein, we need to be intentional about our thoughts, too.  We need to practice taking them captive, so we don’t act on “bad thoughts.”  I’m not saying “bad thoughts” won’t happen… but we don’t have to act on them immediately.  This is something I struggle with sometimes, linked to talking back or being stubborn…I, for one, really need to work on spending a bit of time with my thoughts before I say or do something… especially when it can lead to harsh words or actions that ultimately hurt more than heal.  And words are strong!  That’s a topic for a whole other day, though.

Another tidbit came from my favorite book of the Bible, Philippians… specifically, my favorite chapter thereof.  We were discussing Philippians 4:10-23 (my favorite verse is 4:13!).  For a little background, we’ve got Paul, sitting in a cold, dank prison, speaking words of encouragement to his brothers and sisters in Thessolonica.  I don’t know about you, but I am always impressed by the JOY Paul is always able to spread, even from PRISON… PRISON!  Verses 11 and 12 REALLY stuck with me today, maybe because I’m at a frustrating crossroads in my life, as I simply wait to hear from various jobs to which I’ve applied…. maybe it’s because the Holy Spirit just knew I needed new insights to these verses.  Regardless, here they are:

11 I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances. 12 I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want.”    NIV

I think that this fits into the TRSH mentality, because life should not be about “keeping up with the Joneses”… We all strive for contentment and happiness.  I think the two are very closely linked.  If we can learn to be content, then I think we will gain the ability to more fully appreciate that which we have, whatever it may be.  This is a rebellious thought, in that it flies in the face of much of capitalism… but I think that’s kind of what we might need more of these days.  I’m not usually one to be political or assert super bold opinions, but I think that being content in God and knowing that ultimately, even if our path seems uncertain (like mine does right now…at least to me), they’re there.  God knows our paths, and if we keep “His word as a lamp unto our feet and a light unto our path” (Psalm 119:105), He will guide us.  Yes, He knows our paths, but He gives us freewill because He loves us, and wants us to CHOOSE a path that follows Him.
For me, this is a relief, as I have NO idea what job I get, or where I will end up.  But, I just need to focus on the fact that, as long as I strive to keep Christ at the center of my life and work to life a life reflective of His goodness, I’m doing something right.  He will work all things for the good of those who love Him.  This doesn’t mean that everything will be all hunky-dory… haha… it’s definitely not.  But it does mean that, even when I can’t see beyond the uncertainty of the fog that I’m in, things will clear up and reveal something more beautiful than I could’ve dreamed or imagined on my own.  And I’ve got some wild dreams, so that’s saying something!
So, I’ll leave you with one other tidbit that I wrote in my journal today:
“In our rebellion, we are not seeking to spill the blood of our enemies; we are seeking to be totally washed by the blood of Jesus, the spotless, perfect Lamb.  It’s about US following Christ, being the best version of ourselves that we can be, not about us getting revenge.  God will take care of that part, so long as we commit ourselves to Him, and when He does, it will be righteous… there will be no guilt of wrongdoing or maltreatment.  It’ll be like Him… absolutely PERFECT and JUST.”
Peace, love and Jesus,
Danielle
Leave a Reply

